Athletics at Wheeler

On the field, on the track, on the court, and in the pool… we are Warriors.

The stats say it all: 33 team championships in the last six years and multiple individual award winners every single year. Wheeler students show up ready to compete. Warriors spirit gets everyone up on their feet, ready to cheer our teams on to victory!

The Upper School athletic program is a member of the Rhode Island Interscholastic League and is comprised of  teams for boys and girls in soccer, tennis, field hockey, cross country, basketball, squash, swimming, lacrosse, track & field, softball, baseball, and golf; and two cooperative teams: football and ice hockey.

The Middle School athletic program provides students with the opportunity to compete in interscholastic athletics, offering 11 sports for boys and girls.

As a nationally-recognized Safe Sports School (see block info below), we work together to ensure competition is rooted in safety and character. Wheeler is also one of the few Rhode Island schools with a full-time athletic trainer on its faculty with training facilities at both our Providence and Seekonk campuses.

Check out our Wheeler Warriors microsite here.

Teams, Schedules & Scores

View current information on Wheeler sports teams at our athletics microsite. Also find team information for past seasons and school years.

View Wheeler team information such as schedules, rosters, calendar and more here.

Back To School Practices

Below are the dates that fall practices begin:

August 19 Football practices start at Providence Country Day School

August 19 Soccer, Field Hockey, Tennis, and Cross Country practices begin at the Wheeler Farm

Students are still able to participate on a team even if unable to attend all preseason practices.

Please contact the appropriate coach with any questions or concerns.

Girls soccer Eric Delgado (ericdelgado@wheelerschool.org)

Boys soccer Oscar Zorrilla (oscarzorrilla@wheelerschool.org)

Cross Country Tom Wharton (tomwharton@wheelerschool.org)

Field Hockey Marti Kane (marti_kane@yahoo.com)

Girls Tennis Marco Amendola (mamendola.cyc@gmail.com)

Football Jon Donahue (jondonahue@wheelerschool.org)

Alumni Athletes

Our student-athlete alumni have gone on to tremendous success after making us proud at Wheeler.

Here are their stories

Safe Sports School

As one of the few public or private schools with a full-time Athletic Trainer, the Wheeler School has earned a “First Team” ranking from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association and a “Safe Sports School” award. The award champions safety and recognizes secondary schools that provide safe environments for student athletes. The award reinforces the importance of providing the best level of care, injury prevention and treatment.

logo for the Safe Sports School designation

Our Voices