Announcing the 2021 Wheeler Community Spirit Award

February 23, 2021

The Wheeler School and Wheeler’s Students Involved in Cultural Awareness (SICA) Club honor Dr. Nicole Alexander-Scott, MD, MPH, and Director of the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH), with the 2021 Wheeler Community Spirit Award.

Dr. Alexander-Scott is recognized for her work in leading Rhode Island’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic and her dedication to Health Equity, ensuring all Rhode Islanders have an equal opportunity to be healthy.

Virtual SICA Award Presentation

Please enjoy the presentation of the award with a welcome and introduction by our SICA student leaders, Head of School, and Director of Unity & Diversity, along with remarks by Dr. Alexander-Scott and a concluding performance by our 18 Wheelers a cappella group.

Wheeler School Presents SICA Award to Dr. Nicole Alexander-Scott from Wheeler School Broadcasting on Vimeo.

Watch the SICA Award Presentation Video


Who has received the Wheeler Community Spirit Award?

Established in 2004, the Wheeler School Community Spirit Award recognizes a person in the Providence Community who advocates for those who have fewer opportunities.

Recipients are recognized for their efforts in four key areas:

  • Passion for equity and social justice, both locally and globally
  • Appreciation for and promotion of the benefits of education
  • Commitment to creating opportunities in the community for those who otherwise might not have a voice or an advocate
  • Resilience in the face of challenge and adversity.We ask each recipient to attend the annual Wheeler School Community Potluck Dinner, where the award is presented. The Family Potluck dinner is a school-wide event, sponsored by the Upper School’s diversity club Students Involved in Cultural Awareness (SICA), the Office of Unity & Diversity, and the Wheeler Parent’s Association.

Community Spirit Award Recipients

2021  Dr. Nicole Alexander-Scott, MD, MPH, and Director of the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH)
2020 Dr. Arun K. Singh, one of America’s pre-eminent cardiac surgeons and author of the award-winning memoir Your Heart: My Hand
2019 Jeffrey Osborne, musical performer and philanthropist
2018 Rose Weaver, acclaimed musician, playwright, actress and activist and 2019 RI Woman of the Year
2017 Dan Miller, Wheeler Head of School, 2002-2017
2016 Patrice Wood, news anchor, WJAR-TV, Providence for her advocacy work on behalf of adoptees and their families.
2015 Joseph Le, former executive director of  Providence-based Center for Southeast Asians
2014 Richard Rose, Assistant US Attorney
2013 Angelo Garcia, founder, and head of school, Segue Institute for Learning
2012  Mamie Catlin, in absentia, founder of Camp Street Community Ministries
2011 Teny Gross, executive director, RI Institute for the Study and Practice of Non-Violence
2010 G. Gail Davis, educator/coach, Rhode Island College Student-Athlete Center
2009 Jim Vincent, Manager of Constituent Relations, RI Housing
2008 Len Cabral, Master Storyteller
2007 Armeather Gibbs, United Way executive
2006 Healthcare and community activist Dr. Pablo Rodriguez
2005 Educator and founder of Urban Collaborative Accelerated Program Rob DeBlois
2004 RI Superior Court Judge Ed Clifton

Related Reading