This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. Click the X to clear this message or follow the link for Additional Information.

2018-19 General Awards & Honors

Awards of a diverse nature that do not fit into the subject categories below.
US Presidential Scholars Program 
2019 Candidates
Luc Allio
Troy Feng
Jack Michaels
Jonathan Silver
Everett Smith
Aidan Wu

2019 Spelling Bee
School Winners.  First place: Laila Muhanna; 2nd place: Nicholas Karamanian, 3rd place tie: Quinn Kennedy and Amol Rathore.  Laila will represent Wheeler at the Independent School Bee.

2019 Geography Bee
1st place and School Rep to State Bee on March 29: Ella Harris (Hamilton 7th grade) 
2nd: Seoyon Kim (6th grade)
3rd: Laila Muhanna (7th grade)
Lower School finishers: George Karonis, Sabi Gonzalez, Anika Mehta, Maisie Rampino, Jake Charlton, Bhargav Shah, and Ethan Stites.

Conrad Spirit of Innovation Challenge
Jack Stone '19 and Arvind Sridhar '20 have been named national semifinalists for the challenge for student entrepreneurs.

Rocky Hill Hackathon
Sophomore Giselle Virga represented Wheeler as a solo participant, joining a team that won "The Potential To Impact The Most People" by developing an app to monitor and educate about energy usage at the first Rocky Hill School Hackathon.  The team won a cash prize and VIP access to an upcoming energy conference.

International Dyslexia Association

Upper School senior Jenny Monti’s artwork was featured on the cover of The International Dyslexia Association’s quarterly periodical.

National Hispanic Recognition Program (College Board)
Students who scored in the top 2.5% among Hispanic/Latino PSAT/NMSQT test-takers in our region.
Alexandra Beade
Jack Michaels

National USA Jump Rope Competition
Senior Annabelle Ireland earned a  4thplace position in her single rope freestyle category this summer.  Annabelle and sibling Jillian have recently been selected to join the region 10 Demonstration Team. 

National Merit Scholarship 
Luc Allio
Aidan Beckett
Chloe Derocher
John Fay
Troy Feng
Ben Nault
Cecily Nishimura
Jonathan Silver
Aidan Wu
Sam Yelnosky

Commended Students
Dana Allison
John Chivers
Alexandra Macdonald
Pratul Maddipudi
Everett Smith
Jack Stone
Will Volpe
Lucy Ward
Daniel Zhou

MIT Influential Teacher Honor

Tom Wharton, Math Department, was honored by new MIT student Dennis Gastel '18 as a teacher who has been "especially influential in his development."
216 Hope Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02906-2246
Phone: (401) 421-8100
FAX: (401) 751-7674

Founded 1889

The Wheeler School is an independent coeducational college preparatory day school for Nursery, Pre-K, K-Grade 12 serving Providence, RI, Greater Providence and Greater Boston. The Hamilton School welcomes Grades 1-8 with language-based learning differences.