This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. Click the X to clear this message or follow the link for Additional Information.

Science & Robotics Awards

SY 2018-19

RI State Envirothon
Two Wheeler teams competed in this year's state competition with one of the Wheeler teams repeating as State Champions.  They will compete in the NCF Envirothon National Championship in North Carolina this summer.
Champion Team Members:  Lauren Durkin, Pratul Maddipudi, Ben Nault, Gaurav Rathore, Daniel Zhou

RI Science Olympiad Upper School Competition
Ben Nault, silver in Quiz Round
Ben and Daniel Zhou, bronze in Circuit Lab
Jack Michaels and Steven Katzman, silver in Astronomy
Pratul Maddipudi and Daniel, silver in Geologic Mapping
Jack and Gaurav Rathore, gold in Chemistry Lab
Jack and Gaurav, silver in Fermi Questions
Ben and Pratul, bronze in "Boomilever"
Other team members:
Lauren Durkin, Lilie Young, Yishi Huang

FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Robotics Competition, January 12.
Wheeler's Electric Quahogs team earned the 1st place Inspire award (the top award!) and the 2nd place Alliance trophy. They also placed 2nd for the Collins Aerospace Innovate award, 2nd for the Design award and 3rd for the Motivate award. Team members include: Ben Nault, Luc Gaitskell, Pratul Maddipudi, Zoe Rudolph-Larrea, Jack Michaels and Sam Curtis.
What is the FIRST INSPIRE Award?  
This formally judged award is given to the team that truly embodied the ‘challenge’ of the FTC program. The team that receives this award is chosen by the judges as having best represented a role model FTC Team. This team is a top contender for all other judging categories and is a strong competitor on the field.

The West Virginia Dermatological Society Annual Meeting Poster Contest, First Place
10th grader Steven Katzman studied independently this summer with the Chair of Derm at the University of West Virginia, Dr. Michael Kolodney. He was a research assistant in the Kolodney lab and entered the contest during that time.

SY 2017-18

RI Science Olympiad
Bronze - Astronomy: Jack Michaels & Ben Nault
Silver - Chemistry Lab: Pratul Maddipudi & Gaurav Rathore
Gold - Dynamic Planet: Pratul Maddipudi & Gaurav Rathore
Bronze - Ecology: Sherry Huang & Daniel Zhou
Bronze - Game On: Eric Tang & Lauren Durkin
Gold - Herpetology: Isaiah Suchman & Lilie Young
Silver - Rocks & Minerals: Daniel Zhou & Nick Radesca
Gold - Dynamic Planet (Middle School) Amol Rathore & Sanjana Maddipudi

2018 FTC State Championships
The Wheeler FTC Team, Electric Quahogs, came in 5th place (out of 32 teams who made it to States from the original 44 teams) during qualifying rounds, and then was picked for an alliance in the playoffs, where their alliance lost in the semi-finals. The Electric Quahogs took home the Control Award (for mastering robot intelligence) and were 3rd for the Rockwell Collins Innovate Award (for bringing great ideas from concept to reality). See a ProJo video of the semi-final round (in which the alliance that Wheeler was on lost by 1 point)

Championship Pit Crew (see photo in carousel at right)
Connor Dudek, Nick Radesca, Miles Fox-Kemper, Gaurav Rathore, Pratul Maddipudi, Ben Nault, Luc Gaitskell, Geoff Moss and advisor Meghan Jiminez. Along with Caleb Goodman not pictured.

Robot Engineering Team
All of the above plus Emily Alford, Ece Cetintemel, Renee Collard, Aidan Dibernerdini, Junia Janvier, Steven Katzman, Bill Xia

FIRST Lego League
The Wheeler FLL Team, Sprocket Storm, has qualified for the RI State Finals, Jan 13 at Roger Williams University. Congrats to the members: Bodhi Becker, Sanjana Maddipudi, Willa Mark, Ian Chang, Joey Macek, David Schneider, Beatrice Schroeder
SY 2016-17

Rhode Island Science Olympiad

Div B (MS)
3rd place in Dynamic Planet - Gaurav Rathore, Steven Katzman
1st place in Food Science - Darshan Mehta, Ronnie Parrillo
3rd place in Microbe Mission - Darshan Mehta, Ronnie Parrillo
2nd place in Quiz Bowl - Gaurav Rathore
Div C (US)
1st place in three categories: Astronomy, Ecology, and Rocks and Minerals - Pratul Maddipudi, Daniel Zhou
1st place in Quiz Bowl: Ben Nault
The MS team also took home the trophy for 6th place in the state, out of 26 teams .

2017 FIRST Robotics Competition at WPI
Qualifying Team FRC 3780 Unicorns: Cooper Bennet and Amelia Nishimura, captains. Alex Homer, Kris Hoyt, Sarah Kooper-Johnson, Gus Lee, Yaen Mitchell (from 360 Hope High team), Geoffrey Moss, Choloe Nanian and Maggie Tammaro

FTC Championships February, 2017
The Wheeler FTC robotics team tied for 3rd place at the state championships this last Saturday, Feb 4. The Electric Quahogs beat out 31 other teams for the semifinalist spot. Congratulations to Captain Ben Nault, Luc Gaitskell, Pratul Maddipudi, Zoe Rudolph-Larrea, Gaurav Rathore, Ian MacIvor, Bill Xia, Miles Fox-Kemper, Steven Katzman, and Caleb Goodman.

FTC Championship Qualifying Competition
Wheeler's FTC robotics team -- Bill Xia, Gaurav Rathore, Miles Fox-Kemper, Luc Gaitskell, Captain Ben Nault, Zoe Rudolph-Larrea, Pratul Maddipudi, Ian MacIvor, not pictured: Steven Katzman, Jacob Katzman, Prerna Jagadeesh -- took first place at the qualifying competition last Sat, 1/14. The team also won the Rockwell Collins award for the best engineering notebook. Other awards they took home include: 2nd place - Control Award, 2nd place - Inspire Award, 3rd place - Motivate Award, 3rd place - PTC Design Award, 3rd place - Think Award. 

FLL First Lego League
Wheeler's team, Sprocket Storm, took 2nd place in the state qualifying competition.

SY 2015-16

GENES IN SPACE national competition
Juniors Ruby Schnirman, and Francess Kamara and sophomores Grace Moorhead, and Naomi Shimberg received one of 10 Honorable Mentions from 380 submissions.

RI Science Olympiad 
MS Medals:
Luc Gaitskell and Gaurav Rathore, Bronze, Dynamic Planet
Gaurav Rathore, Gold, Quiz Bowl
Lauren Durkin and Sarah Martin, Silver, Green Generation (Environmental Science)
US Medals:
Prerna Jagadeesh, Silver, Green Generation (Environmental Science)
Pratul Maddipudi, Silver, Quiz Bowl
Ben Nault and Pratul Maddipudi, Silver, Astronomy
Others who participated in the MS division were: Will Augustyn, Juliana Bruno, Aaron Landry, Eli Landry, Sam Kooper-Johnson, Darshan Mehta, Gaurav Rathore, Juan Sanchez-Ayesta, and Sylvan Schrank.
FTC Robotics State Championship
Wheeler earned the Control Award for best autonomous program in the State as well as the overall 2nd place honors.  Congrats to teammates Luc Gaitskell, Prerna Jagadeesh, Pratul Maddipudi and Ben Nault.

First Lego League Robot Design Award finalists
Wheeler Middle School Team Sprocket Storm for "Sprocket Jr."
Connor Cruz, Delaney Foss, Angelina Jian, Caitlynna Jian, Isabella Lindsay, Amol Rathore, Gaurav Rathore, Zoe Rudolph-Larrea, Sylvan Schrank, and Beatrice Schroeder

216 Hope Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02906-2246
Phone: (401) 421-8100
FAX: (401) 751-7674

Founded 1889

The Wheeler School is an independent coeducational college preparatory day school for Nursery, Pre-K, K-Grade 12 serving Providence, RI, Greater Providence and Greater Boston. The Hamilton School welcomes Grades 1-8 with language-based learning differences.